CONTACT: Jennifer Read
[email protected]

October 31, 2023



ECIA Announces North Star Award Recipient
Frank Flynn, President of Sager Electronics Receives the Association’s Highest Honor.


Atlanta — It is with great pleasure that ECIA announces Frank Flynn as this year's recipient of its highest annual award, the North Star Award.

“This prestigious accolade celebrates individuals whose unwavering commitment, exceptional leadership, and tireless dedication have significantly impacted the field of electronic components and the ECIA community,” ECIA President and CEO David Loftus explained during the award ceremony at the ECIA Executive Conference held last week. “Through countless contributions over several decades, this honoree has exemplified the values of service, leadership, and collaboration. We applaud his enduring service to ECIA and our industry as a whole.”

Frank is President of Sager Electronics. Despite the time demands leading Sager, Frank has always found time to devote to the association and the industry. He served on the NEDA Foundation Board from 1999 to 2003, including Foundation President from 2001 to 2003. He served on the NEDA Board from 2003 to 2011, as Secretary/Treasury 2003 - 2005, and as NEDA Board President 2007-2009.  Frank was awarded the Gail S. Carter Award, NEDA's highest accolade in 2011.  When NEDA merged with ECA in 2011 to form ECIA, he continued to serve on the ECIA Board until 2015.Frank concurrently served on the EDS Board from 2011 to 2017.

“Frank served on the ECIA Distributor Council in 2020 and he was again elected to the ECIA Board,” continued David Loftus. “Frank served as ECIA Board Chair for 2021 and 2022 and continues to serve as a director today. Those were challenging years with the association, with the cancellation of EDS and the Executive Conference. Frank always kept a cool head and provided steady leadership though times of financial and organizational turmoil. Frank instituted monthly board calls to stay on top of the evolving situation and sought consensus from the board and other industry leaders on how best to navigate the obstacles. I personally appreciated Frank's extensive experience, counseling, and friendship as I had just recently taken the reins as CEO of ECIA,” he concluded.

For millennia, the North Star guided those navigators who sought to explore our world and to make it better. The award is so named to reflect the extraordinary leadership, guidance, and perseverance of those who are recognized. These individuals made significant contributions to our industry over the course of their careers and set the standard for those who follow. In 2016, the inaugural North Star Award recipient was long-time board member Michael Knight of TTI; John Denslinger earned the award in 2017; Blair Haas, Bud Industries received it in 2018; and Dave Doherty of Digi-Key took home the award in 2019. After a break when the conference was cancelled for two years due to the pandemic, Jeff Thomson received the award in 2022.

About ECIA

The Electronic Components Industry Association (ECIA) is made up of the leading electronic component manufacturers, their manufacturer representatives and authorized distributors. ECIA members share a common goal of promoting and improving the business environment for the authorized sale of electronic components. Comprised of a broad array of leaders and professionals representing all phases of the electronics components supply chain, ECIA is where business optimization, product authentication and industry advocacy come together. ECIA members develop industry guidelines and technical standards, as well as generate critical business intelligence. For more information, visit or call 678-393-9990.