Service Awards


2015 Distinguished Service Award Recipients

Association Distinguished Service Award Recipients

The Association honors industry executives with the Distinguished Service Award for their significant contributions to the association. Nominated by the ECIA Board of Directors, these individuals are chosen because of their devotion of time and skill to advance the association and the industry.

Jim Banovich, Marsh Electronics

See More >
Jim is the Vice President, Sales & Marketing of Marsh. He has been a member of either the ECIA Foundation Board or NEDA Foundation Board since 2007 and held officer positions during that time. He has also served on the EDS Planning Committee since 2013. We count on Jim to deliver a respected opinion on industry issues that affect the association’s smaller regional members and to provide insight on company participation with FIRST Robotics. Jim is also a member of the Executive Agenda, Wisconsin's oldest and largest membership organization dedicated exclusively to executive development.

Joe Biernacki, Stackpole Electronics, Inc.

See More >
Joe is a Certified Quality Auditor, Certified Quality Engineer and Certified Manager of Quality/Organizational Excellence. With that background, Joe is a very active member of the EIA Standards Council, which is run through ECIA. He chairs the P-1 Committee on Resistive Devices and participates in several of the passive engineering committees and the automated component handling committee. He is also currently spearheading work on a new test procedure that will be developed as a standard. His council work is invaluable to the organization.

Dave Doherty, Digi-Key Electronics

See More >
Dave is President of Digi-Key Electronics and has led the ECIA Foundation Board since 2011. He has been instrumental in guiding it in its updated mission of promoting the value of the electronics components industry through developing, leveraging, and deploying educational and awareness based initiatives. His tenure has seen the Foundation take on initiatives that benefit universities, STEM education and Hiring our Heroes. Dave has been involved with the association since the NEDA days in 2007. He will transition to the ECIA board in January where his ability to clearly guide with a vision toward the future will be invaluable.

Perry Fox, Tonar Industries

See More >
Perry is President of Tonar Industries. He was elected to the NEDA Foundation Board in 2004 and has been actively involved since. His service has included terms on the NEDA Board, the ECIA Board and most recently the Executive Committee. He was involved in the merger of the NEDA and ECA associations that formed ECIA today. When called to participate on ECIA’s Strategic Planning Committee, Perry readily stepped forward offering insight into the needs and wants of regional distribution. His quiet determination and fiscal expertise have been huge assets that we’ve tapped into repeatedly.

Greg Jerrehian, Phoenix Contact USA;

See More >
Greg is Vice President, Device Connections at Phoenix Contact USA. He brings a clear understanding of the challenges faced by company employees at all levels to his board work to ensure that the association produces value to all members. Given his prior involvement in ECA leadership, he became a founding ECIA board member in 2011. Since then, he has been the steady hand that has guided the association’s strategy to provide meaningful initiatives. In addition to his day job and his ECIA service, Greg is active in the industry through his work with EDS where he has been on the Board since 2011 and is presently EDS President.

Hayne Shumate, Mouser Electronics

See More >
As the Vice President, Internet Business at Mouser Electronics, Hayne Shumate plays a significant role in helping Mouser create the ultimate website user experience. He has brought that same dedication to his role on the Steering Committee for the ECIAauthorized inventory search site. Hayne has spent countless hours devoted to testing and improving systems and processes on the site for the benefit of all users –your customers, distributor members and their manufacturers. He provides keen insight and a strategic vision that has been invaluable to its success as one of the top inventory search sites on the web.

Mike Swenson, Mel Foster Company

See More >
Mike, President of Mel Foster Company, was influential in the formation of ECIA in 2011, a founding Board member and remains very active. In 2013 he led the Executive Conference planning committee as Chair and provided one of the meeting’s most memorable themes – “Shift Happens”. Mike followed that up as a member of the ECIA Executive Committee offering valuable perspectives on behalf of manufacturers’ reps but always objectively for the greater good of the industry. He is an enthusiastic team player and leads by example. We are grateful for his energy, thoughtful guidance and willingness to share a rep’s perspective with the goal of making the association stronger through rep participation.

Bob Willis , ECIA & ECA

See More >
Bob Willis has been one of the industry's most dedicated, colorful, and contributory leaders! For over twenty years, he was devoted solely to our electronics component community in executive leadership positions. From his early days at Motorola to his tenure at EIA as sector President of ECA, Bob successfully leveraged all of that professional experience and cross-industry relationships to continually grow global IP&E awareness. In 2011 as ECA and NEDA merged, Bob became ECIA's resident technologist serving the broader technical needs of IP&E, semiconductor and a new generation of products addressing system solutions. For many years he presided over the association’s statistics collection and reporting and ran the CARTS meetings. Over the past few years, he has skillfully managed the EDS show. Now he has retired and taking a well-deserved rest!